Dog Tales: Meet Sugar

On April 14, my husband and I visited a local rescue. They had dogs from several places including Puerto Rico and the Middle East. Most dogs didn’t resonate with him but I recognized one chihuahua from their website. I held my hand up to the cage, she licked my hand, I opened her door, and the volunteer turned around to see her in my lap. That was Sugar.

Hubs wasn’t overly interested so we left empty handed. After talking, he realized a small dog would be a good fit for our 1 bedroom apartment life.

Sugar was also friendly but chill. Some dogs were skittish around people or others were reactive and vocal. Sugar was relaxed and that resonate with him. Hubs had never had a dog before so he wanted an easy dog. Sugar also has some scarring on her face and head so we joked about getting a battle chihuahua.

I sent in an application but had some trouble getting someone to get back to me. The following Saturday we went back to get our girl. In preparation, I hit up Target for a leash, harness, a couple of toys, and a pet bed.

We arrive on a very busy Saturday to find out our sweet girl has no other applications. I have no idea how but it made things even better for us. Hubs has a good job, I work with dogs for a living, and our apartment building has its own dog park. We’re pretty great on paper and nice in person. We brought her home that day.

Leave a comment