Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

I sourced it from this blog.

Best book you’ve read so far in 2024

I’m torn between In True Face by Jonna Mendez and The Nightmare Box and Other Stories by Cynthia Gómez

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2024

I haven’t read any true sequels this year. The Lost Story is connected to The Wishing Game

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

Horror Movie by Paul Tremblay

I got the pretty B&N special edition so I don’t want my kids anywhere near it.

Most anticipated release for the second half of 2024?

I’m not sure. I hear about a book, put it on a list, and don’t think too hard about it. Maybe Mick Cutter’s upcoming book.

Biggest disappointment?

Bless Your Heart by Lindy Ryan had an excellent premise but was underdeveloped in key places.

Biggest surprise?

The Nightmare Box

I got an eARC from BookSirens which is all small, indie publishers. I expected something entertaining but middling. This was both creepy and excellent representation.

New favorite author?

Cynthia Gómez

Newest fictional crush?

Not really a thing I do anymore as I inch toward middle age.

Newest favorite character?

Dinios Kol from The Tainted Cup was entertaining. I’d definitely like to see more of him.

Book that made you cry?

The Book of Mothers by Carrie Mullins had me in my feels a bit but I’m not much of a cryer.

Book that made you happy?

Mrs. Quinn’s Rise to Fame by Olivia Ford was so dang cozy and sweet.

Favorite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen so far this year?

🤣 I miss having the time and energy to watch movies. Combine small children with chronic pain and sleep problems and my brain can’t handle 1 hour dramas some days.

Favorite post you’ve written this year?

I’m working on one about my chronic pain struggle and why it has made me deeply pro-choice.

Most beautiful book you bought this year?

You Are Your Own Fairy Tale by Amanda Lovelace

I’m not much of a poetry person but it was just so dang pretty.

What books do you really need to read by the end of this year?

Everything on my NetGalley shelf. I get turned down quite a bit but approved and even offered enough books that I’m always surprised.

Leave a comment