June Wrap-Up, July TBR, and Nerdy 30 Activity 14

Reading the rainbow kept me very busy this month. Rainbow colors will be marked so you can see how I did for Nerdy 30’s Activity 14.

Archie vs. Predator by Alex de Campi
Fun, ridiculous, and gory. As a fan of Archie and the horror genre, I was a big fan of this one. 5/5

Prison Island by Colleen Frakes
For such an interesting concept, I was left wanting. There was so much Frakes didn’t answer. An interesting story but not a deep dive. 3/5

Leaving Megalopolis by Gail Simone
A city full of trapped citizens and heroes gone bad? So good, so compelling. I can’t wait to read the next installment. 5/5

Black Mad Wheel by Josh Malerman
This hovered between psychological thriller and horror with the prose often feeling like it was on the precipice of madness. It was interesting but there were several unanswered questions. 3/5

The Creators, Vol. 1 by Michael S. Bracco
A fantastic idea, a brilliant use of color, and an incredibly compelling story. I only wish Bracco would be doing a Kickstarter before next spring for the next volume. 5/5

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Beats Up the Marvel Universe by Ryan North
I got this autographed at Awesome Con by North himself. One of the best things about this all age comic is Squirrel Girl’s ability to find constructive and creative solutions to problems and this is no exception. 5/5

My Fairy God Mother Is a Drag Queen by David Clawson
A very interesting take on Cinderella where both Cinderella and Prince Charming are young men. I’m taking off points because while the ending had a resolution, I still had a lot of questions. 4/5

Suck Less by Willam Belli
This was a very odd journey to some important life lessons and bad advice. 3/5

Wet Dog by Sophie Gamand
A very sweet photo book with wet dogs throwing shade, delivering side eye, and being grumpy AF. 5/5

Eavesdropper: Stories Over Heard on the Streets by Mete Erdogan
If you listen at the right time, you can overhear some very interesting tidbits. If you’re Erdogan, you do a lovely job artfully representing them. My only complaint was that I wanted more. 5/5

Chain Mail Bikini edited by Hazel Newlevant
An anthology by all kinds of girl gamers. Some stories were very short so this book is best in small doses but all of them were good to great. 4/5

I only read two regular books from start to finish but I made a big dent in Broke Millennial by Erin Lowry.  Here’s hoping some of that advice sticks in my head.

July TBR

It’s time to clear off my shelves and read some books that are a bit overdue. I haven’t decided on what I’ll be reading to celebrate National Wilderness Month (borrowed from September). I’ll let my mood guide me.

Confessions of a Wedding Planner by Tamryn Kirby
A memoir from one of the UK’s top wedding planners.

Out of the Ice by by Ann Turner
A scientist going to Antarctica gets more than she bargained for.

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas
I got an ARC so I should read it before it comes out.

Whose Panties Are These? Edited by Jennifer Leo
This is my back-up adventure book but it should be a short, fun collection of travel essays.

Ninjas Versus Pirates Featuring Zombies by James Marshall
I got this at a con years ago. It’s finally time to figure out WTF this is about.

There are several others but these are the main ones.

 

Leave a Reply

