Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

It’s the middle of the year so what better time for this book tag?

 

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

Night Music by John Connolly. It has a bit of everything he does and he does it all very well.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017

I’ve only read one sequel so this was pretty easy: Split the Party by Drew Hayes. It deepened the characters, story, and world. Two very big thumbs up.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

How to Be Married by Jo Piazza. A little advice can’t hurt.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

The upcoming Welcome to Night Vale book It Devours.

5. Biggest disappointment

The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer. I didn’t have high hopes going in but oh my god. The bitch couldn’t even be bothered to google critical information.

6. Biggest surprise

NPCs by Drew Hayes. I expected to be underwhelmed but instead I was completely charmed.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Drew Hayes. I’ve only read some of his NPC series but his other works sound like just as much fun.

8. Newest fictional crush

I don’t really have these so N/A

9. Newest favorite character

Probably Duane from My Fairy God Mother Is a Drag Queen. He’s incredibly fun and sassy without being a token sidekick. I’d love to hear more about his story.

10. Book that made you cry

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. It was, I imagine, a very true to life portrait of slavery and the brutality of that time.

11. Book that made you happy

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh. I laughed out loud at her dog stories. And the goose attack? Hysterical!

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

It’s a comic series so I’m counting it: Wonder Woman. It was incredibly well done and I hope it’s just the beginning for female hero movies.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year

Probably the one I did for The Creators, Vol. 1 by Michael S. Bracco. I am acquainted with him and he’s a really cool guy. His book is also amazing so go read it.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

My Signature Shakespeare copy of Romeo and Juliet with laser cut paper designs. It’s a souvenir from my trip to NYC and I love it.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year

  • I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  • Accessing the Future edited by Djibril Al-Ayad and Kathryn Allan
  • In the Country We Love by Diane Guerrero
  • Neither Wolf Nor Dog by Kent Nerburn
  • The United States of Africa by Abdourahman A. Waberi
  • Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
  • Brimstone Angels by Erin M. Evans
  • The Suicide Forest by Jeremy Bates

Categories with several options are

  • An adventure memoir
  • A celebrity memoir
  • A Translation
  • A non-Western fairy tale
  • A book from a TV show

 

Leave a Reply

