May Wrap-Up and June TBR

My read list looks pretty underwhelming this month. I spent quite a bit of time reading Hikertrash but tabled it at the start of a book slump. I got about halfway through Human Body Theater but didn’t finish that either. You can see where the book slump played into the small number.

May Wrap-Up

Springtime: A Ghost Story by Michelle de Kretser
Literary fiction that got off on its own pretention and vagueness. 2/5

Back to the Grind: A Yellow Peril Collection by Jamie Noguchi
A fun and silly collection that is a must read for anyone with a boring desk job. 5/5

The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
A compelling tale about what happens when the world ends. This book does a fantastic job showing what strong female characters are supposed to be. They don’t take BS, experience character development, and are well-written. The ending was both harsh and beautiful. 4.5/5

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
Made famous by her fantastic portrayal of depression on her web comic, Allie Brosh is hilarious and incredibly relatable. Her story about moving with her dogs had me in stitches. This book was fantastic. A must read if you’re a human being. 5/5

 

June TBR

Suck Less by Willam
June is Pride month and I’ll be enjoying Willam’s book. He’s a drag queen and fabulous gay man. I’ve greatly enjoyed some of his online videos so I’m looking forward to seeing what he has to say.

I’m going to attempt to read the rainbow this month so here are some of the colors I have picked out.

Red – Archie vs. Predator by Alex de Campi

Orange – Prison Island by Colleen Frakes

Yellow – Suck Less by Willam

Green – Leaving Megalopolis by Gail Simone

Blue – Wild Ocean by Matt Dembicki

Purple – TBD

Purple will either by Chain Mail Bikini edited by Hazel Newlevant or Rejected Princesses by Jason Porath. I haven’t decided yet. I think using Suck Less as part of two challenges is fine. The rainbow requires multiple books and is still part of the pride theme. Sticking with mostly graphic novels will also make the rainbow a lot easier to finish inside of a month.

Other than these, I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself to read anything. I’m sure I will but I won’t make myself crazy.

Leave a Reply

