Nerdy 30 New Books #6-28 March & April Book Haul

Holy Hauls Batman!

For all the purging and gutting I did of my shelves, I spent March and April in an unintentional effort to refill them. I’m breaking this haul down into parts just so it will make more sense.

Discount Adventure Books

I kickstarted a book about campfire tales last year. They partnered with an indie publisher, Mountaineers Books, and offered all backers a one shot 50% off discount code that expires in May. A lot of the books were about climbing or biking and a few other things that didn’t quite jibe with me but there was plenty that piqued my interest.

Before you judge me for this binge, I checked and every title I purchased was not available at my library. Some of these may also work as decent gifts for my mother since she loved Alaska. I did notice there was a ton of PCT trail memoirs but next to no Appalachian trail memoirs. Is it the mosquitoes? I think it’s the mosquitoes.

  • Live! From Death Valley: Dispatches from America’s Lowest Point by Joe Soennichsen
  • Alaska Range: Exploring the Last Great Wild by Carl Battreall
  • Alaska Wildlife Through the Seasons by Tom Walker
  • The Road Trip Pilgrim’s Guide by Dan Austin
  • Spirited Waters: Soloing South through the Inside Passage by Jennifer Hahn
  • Over the Edge: The True Story of Kidnap and Escape of Four Climbers in Central Asia by Greg Child
  • Journey on the Crest: Walking 2600 Miles from Mexico to Canada by Cindy Ross
  • Prophets and Moguls, Rangers and Rogues, Bison and Bears: 100 Years of the National Park Service by Heather Hansen
  • Mudflats and Fish Camps: 800 Miles Around Alaska’s Cook Inlet by Erin McKittrick
  • Found: A Life in Mountain Rescue by Bree Loewen {This book was ordered at the same time but shipped to me a couple of weeks later. Since it isn’t supposed to be out until May 1, that’s pretty cool.}

Total: 10

img_3101

Give Me Some Credit

The next portion of my haul created something of a predicament. I routinely sell books I no longer want for store credit. Inevitably, that store credit results in my acquiring new books. Since I always get fewer that what I sold, should they count individually for my final 30?

I asked on Twitter and Facebook; nobody was helpful. I’ve decided the best compromise is to do a two-for-one count and round down on odds. Yes, it’s rule bending but I’m still bringing in more than I’m sending out, I get used books as often as I can, and it’s not costing me money.

  • I Promise Not to Suffer: A Fool for Love Hikes the Pacific Crest Trail by Gail Storey
  • Conquistadors of the Useless by Lionel Terray
  • Hikertrash: Life on the Pacific Crest Trail by Erin Miller
  • The United States of Africa by Abdourahman A. Waberi
  • Accessing the Future edited by Djilbril Al-Ayad and Kathryn Allan
  • Springtime: A Ghost Story by Michelle De Krester

Total after BS math: 3

img_3158

It Was Pretty

Jen Campbell hauled The Secret Lives of Colour. It was beautiful. Wandering a B&N on Easter, I discovered Grimbeard and the gorgeous cloth bound Anna Karenina. I discovered a new indie bookstore near us and they had a lot of pretty books. The store got 3 ARCs of Little Monsters and the clerk saw I had a sample chapter so she just gave me one of the spares for free. That is basically a gift and this wasn’t counted (but is in the photo).

  • The Secret Lives of Colour by Kassia St. Clair
  • Grimbeard: Tales of the Last Dwarf by Samwise Didier
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  • The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster (in hardcover!)
  • The Moth Presents: All These Wonders edited by Catherine Burns
  • Why We March: Signs of Protest and Hope by Artisan Press
  • We Are All Stardust by Stefan Klein

Total: 7

img_3177

You Got a Friend in Me

My library had one of its regular books sales and they have a special Friends of the Library day where we get to go a day before everyone else. I had a $5 coupon and everything was obscenely cheap. I employed my BS math again because it’s a good cause and cheap AF.

  •  Africa’s Animal Kingdom by Kit Coppard (only $2!)
  • Smithsonian Ocean
  • On the Beaten Path by Rubin (An Appalachian trail memoir)
  • Whose Panties Are These?
  • The Conscious Bride by Paul
  • Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman
  • Who Wants To Be the Prince of Darkness? By Michael Botman

Total according to my BS math: 3


This makes my grand total of books purchased for this haul to 23 and 28 for the whole of 2017. I think I have a problem. Time to watch all the minimalist and declutter videos to try and stop before I haul again.

If you start taking bets on when I’ll hit 30, I won’t be offended.

Leave a Reply

