What’s in My Bag?

Back in college I read a book called Snoop: What Your Stuff Says About You. I’m not sure why I was thinking about it but if you look in a woman’s purse, you get a glimpse into her life. I started thing about how wrong people would probably be if they had to guess from what was in my bag alone.

My default bags are either the Backpack of Holding, a Vera Bradley double zip backpack (discontinued style) or a slouchy TARDIS backpack. Since I’m more into backpacks instead of purses, most of my stuff lives in little wallets or bags. Floating free is the small umbrella in the side pocket, my latest book (probably in a book sleeve), and a water bottle (inside of side pocket). The front pocket has my work ID, keys, metro card attached to a keyring with frequent buyer cards, tissues, and a fidget toy. Occasionally my front pocket will also have my backup phone charger.

Bag 1 is a Vera Braldey wristlet. They stopped making this style so I have it in 3 patterns, all purchased used via Poshmark. It’s big enough for my phone but that’s usually out since I’m an avid Pokémon Go player. One of my backpacks also has a side pocket that’s the perfect size for it.

  • Credit card, debit card, insurance info, driver’s license
  • Punch cards for 2 ice cream places
  • Sephora VIB card and gift card
  • Library card
  • Coconut lip balm
  • Tinted lip balm or whatever lipstick I’m wearing
  • Headphones (depending on the bag being used)
  • Pokémon Go Plus (maybe depending on the day/outing.

Bag 2 was something incredibly cute I found on the internet. It used to have a wrist strap but that broke after too much time living in a backpack. Based on the list you’d think I’m obsessed with dental hygiene but the floss is for when I get food stuck in my teeth.

  • Band-Aids (usually characters)
  • Neosporin cream
  • Coconut lip oil
  • 2 inch pocket knife
  • Tiny bottle of Advil and OTC stomach meds
  • Tiny bottle of tums
  • Tiny dental floss
  • Trident gum
  • Saline eye drops

Bag 3 I got at Old Navy the summer I had my first job. It’s purple and has a recycle symbol on it. It’s similar to Bag 2 but is much simpler

  • Phone cord and USB plug
  • Saline nasal spray
  • Clip-on sunglasses (I wear glasses)

Based on how prepared I am, I’d guess I was a 40 something mom with elementary school aged kids. The day I was having this ponder I had a little Pokémon figure in the front pocket. Mostly I’m just accident prone with dry eyes and sinus problems. What does the contents of my bag say to you? What do you think your bag says to other people?

Leave a Reply

