Nerdy 30 Activity #10 or The Halestorm Book Tag

I made a book tag after one of my favorite bands. I hope you like it.

Love Bites: A book that broke your heart
The Never Open Desert Diner. I’m not easily moved by fiction but I distinctly remember sitting on the couch informing FHubs I needed a hug.

You Call Me a Bitch like It’s a Bad Thing: Your favorite badass heroine.
Myfawny Thomas. She was pathologically shy but faced the loss of herself head-on. The new version of herself managed to save the world and keep track of her receipts.

What Were Your Expecting: A book that was not what you expected.
The Name of the Wind. All I’d been told was that it was the greatest fantasy novel ever and the intro on the back. What I got was considerably slower and less swashbuckling than promised. Interesting? Sure. Well written? Definitely. Accurately represented? Not on your life.

And don’t be like that schmuck on reddit who told me ‘you’re doing it wrong.’ If the nature of storytelling is about misleading or bending the truth, the back of the book did a lovely job of it.

Freak Like Me: A protagonist you strongly relate to
Adrien from The Trees. While I’m not like this anymore, I can appreciate his lack of ambition and self-loathing in a way many can’t. I’ve had people want to fix me or help my suffering but most want nothing to do with it. When the world treats you like you’re unimportant, it’s easy to start believing it yourself.

Apocalyptic: A post-apocalyptic title you loved
Rover Red Charlie. It’s a graphic novel about dogs in the apocalypse. It’s a beautiful and heartbreaking tale of man’s best friend when there is no man to befriend.

Bad Girl’s World: Your favorite female villain
It’s been awhile since I’ve read anything in this series but the female coven leader in the third Dresden book really stands out to me for some reason.

I Like It Heavy: A large book on your TBR
Doctor Who: Winter’s Dawn, Season’s End. It’s a large, hardcover graphic novel collection of Doctor Who comics. I got it gently used for 50% off the cover price and still need to read it.

Innocence: A coming of age story
As I get older, YA contemporaries appeal to me less and less but when they did, I absolutely loved Love and Other Four Letter Words.

Rock Show: A book where music is important
The First Collection of Criticism by a Living Female Rock Critic. It’s on my TBR and I image music figures somewhere prominently.

Familiar Taste of Poison: A popular book you don’t like
I tried to read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell but just couldn’t get into it. I don’t think I ever will either. One of the perils of aging out of YA.

I’m Not an Angel: A character who went from good to bad
Caleb Prior started pretty neutral but twisted ‘faction before blood’ into ‘faction before humanity.’ I’m sure there are better examples out there but this is what came to mind.

Gonna Get Mine: The last book you bought
The last book I bought is still in transit but it was The Secret Lives of Colour by Kassia St. Clair. I saw it on one of Jen Campbell’s videos and needed it in my life. #noimpulsecontrol

Leave a Reply

