2016 End of Year Reading Survey

From BooksandLala. My 2016 reading year in review with some help from GoodReads.

How many books did you read?
99

Did you meet your goal?
I surpassed my GoodReads goal but did not meet my reading challenge goal.

Most read genre?
What I call genre fiction: sci-fi, (urban) fantasy, horror. If you include graphic novels, the number goes up for this.

Longest and shortest books you read.
Ensign Sue Must Die with 32 pages and Stiletto with 583 pages

Favourite book published in 2016?
Stiletto. I didn’t love it as much as I’d hoped but it was still pretty great.

Favourite debut book in 2016?
Shrill by Lindy West. It was her first book despite being a known writer. It was phenomenal.

Favourite book not published this year?
The Princeless series.

A book that lived up to the hype
Challenger Deep. So fantastic. Go read it right now.

A book that did NOT live up to the hype
Vinegar Girl. It was so true to the inspiring source material that I was wholly underwhelmed by it.

Book that felt like the biggest accomplishment?
The Dog Merchants. It was the tangible beginning of me trying to change my life.

Favourite character
Odette and Felicity from Stiletto. I found them both very compelling characters.

Least favourite character
Malorie from Bird Box. The story is creepy and intoxicating but it annoyed me to no end that she refused to name her children.

Most shocking book/moment
When Harry Potter turned into an episode of Doctor Who during Cursed Child.

Favourite couple/OTP
Clements and the Barghest. (Stiletto)

The best written book you read this year
The Never Open Desert Diner. It capture the spirit of where they were perfectly and had so many quotable moments..

Book that you pushed the most people to read in 2016
Probably The Rook or Challenger Deep

Favourite book cover of the year
Neurocomic. So gorgeous.

Favourite adaptation
Deadpool. It really nailed the character.

What book made you cry the most?
The Never Open Desert Diner.

What book made you laugh the most?
If You Loved Me, You’d Think This Was Cute. The cartoons from a Washington Post advice column.

A new favourite author you discovered this year
Mira Grant. I loved her short Rolling in the Deep. I might finally pick up her main series in 2017.

Guilty pleasure read of the year
The in Death series. It’s not the pinnacle of literature but entertaining AF.

Favourite book you re-read this year
The Rook. I read it in preparation for Stiletto and still adore it.

Were you happy with your reading year?
Yes. Even though I didn’t finish my challenge, I checked several things off my TBR and didn’t finish my reading challenge because I focused on what I wanted to read rather than what I should be reading.

What will you do different in 2017?
I’m going to start my challenge early and I’ve hopefully set it up so I can succeed this year. I will be attempting to read more diversely and still cater to my interests.

Leave a Reply

