Richer Reading Life 2016 Final Update

What a reading year this has been.

Books

  • By a woman – The Bell Jar
  • By a POCBad Feminist
  • By a LGBT+ personMore Than This
  • Deals with Mental Illness – Challenger Deep
  • Feminist Nonfiction –
  • Author over 65 –
  • Author from Africa – The Book of Phoenix
  • Takes place in Asia – Singapore Noir
  • Indie press – Pedal Zombies
  • TranslationSings Preceding the End of the World
  • PoetryPoisoned Apples 
  • Published before 1850
  • Genre I typically avoid – Living Well, Spending Less
  • Award Winner – Becoming Nicole by Amy Ellis Nutt
  • AudiodramaThe Black Tapes podcast
  • Recommendation – Bird Box

I’ve been a longstanding fan of The Black Tapes podcast. The audiodrama is fun, captivating, and creepy. I highly recommend it. I really wanted to read Hag-Seed but I ran out of time and refused to rush through the book. I also ran out of time to do Jane Austen or Macbeth justice.

13 out of 16 isn’t ideal but it’s not bad.

Activities

  • Library recommendationThe Curse of Jacob Tracy
  • Ask someone I respect for a recommendation and read it right awayBlindsight & Twitter friend
  • Read outsideoutside a restaurant, near some shops, and on the beach
  • Read a book that looks like it will make you uncomfortable – Haunted Old Forge
  • Read out loud to someone I loveBoyfriend and Ghostly Encounters
  • Dog ear a page – Never Open Desert Diner quotes
  • Write in margins – The Book of Phoenix 
  • Give away a book that’s been in my TBR a long time Most of my 2nd quarterly cull
  • Cull 10 books from my collection and don’t bring any home for a month Culled? Check. No new books? Check
  • Attend a reading event near me – This Is Why You’re Single sketch show and book tour
  • Read the book, watch the movie, debate which is better
  • Listen to an audio book of a physical book I DNFThe Call of Cthulhu by H. P. Lovecraft
  • Listen to a podcast about booksDear Book Nerd and BookTube
  • Read poetryThe Uses of the Body
  • Read one page of a holy book of faith I was not raised with Quran
  • Have a conversation about books with someone you’ve never talked books with before MRI tech

I have started The Call of Cthulhu many times but I finally finished it listening to the audio on YouTube. I feel about similarly about Cthulhu as I do about Star Wars. I love what it’s done for popular culture and greatly enjoy the references but I’m not enamored with the source material.

My library’s website recommended The Curse of Jacob Tracy which is a paranormal western. Jacob Tracy is a former seminary student who was wounded in the war and can communicate with dead people. Tracy makes the acquaintance of a woman who is aware of his gift and knows a great deal more than she’s telling. While I found the continual lack of information exchanged frustrating, I really enjoyed this book. I’m looking forward to the sequel when it comes out next year.

The movie did not wind up happening because Boyfriend and I are terrible about seeing things in theaters. Movies we wanted to see but missed include, but aren’t limited, to Captain America: Civil War, X-Men Apocalypse, Ghostbusters (watched DVD at a friend’s), Finding Dory (borrowed the DVD), Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Star Trek Beyond, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Zootopia (rented on cable), Through the Looking Glass, and Doctor Strange. None of these have made it to the library yet but probably will soon.

As far as activities go, I did well with 15 out of 16

Books

  1. Illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  2. This Is Why You’re Single by Laura Lane & Angela Spera
  3. Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken & Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
  4. The Green Man by Ellen Datlow
  5. Sisters of the Revolution edited by Ann VanderMeer
  6. Sharkpunk edited by Jonathan Green
  7. The Feminist Utopia Project by Alexandra Blonsky & Rachel Kauder Nalebuff
  8. If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski
  9. A Purpose for the Pain by Renee Yohe
  10. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
  11. Penpal by Daniel Auerbach
  12. Cautionary Fables and Fairy Tales: Africa
  13. Cautionary Fables and Fairy Tales: Europe
  14. Live More, Want Less by Mary Carlomagno
  15. Lady Susan/The Watsons/Sanditon by Jane Austen
  16. Hard Choices by Hillary Clinton
  17. Ocean Soul by Brian Skerry
  18. Nightmares and Echoes edited by Anna Dobritt
  19. Eye to Eye by Frans Lanting
  20. All Dogs Go to Kevin by Jessica Vogelsang
  21. The Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham
  22. Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks by Dalton
  23. Out of the Ice by Ann Turner

15 completes my Jane Austen collection. It was a cheap volume and I had a coupon.

I checked Hard Choices out from the library and promptly realized the book was huge, the print wasn’t huge, and it was going to take a while. I bought a cheap, used copy on Amazon. I don’t know when I’ll finish it but I will one day. I had quite of bit of credit with Powell’s and used that to purchase a coffee table book by Brian Skerry. It’s big enough that you need a coffee table to read it.

Nightmares and Echoes was sold out and out of print for quite a while. When it came back on Amazon for $7 and Eye to Eye, a photo book of wild animals, was on sale for a similar price, I pounced. Since my year end goal was 16, I did OK. I purged more and moved the goalposts a few times but I didn’t do too bad on book buying in 2016.

All Dogs was a Black Friday purchase. I was checking books left and right to see if they were available at my library. This one wasn’t and I had a coupon. When I heard exlibris talk about John Wyndham’s book, I was immediately enamored but of course the library didn’t have it. Fortunately, Amazon did. The next two were mention on Sophie Carlon‘s channel and sounded amazing. I actually got a decent price on all of them, despite them shipping from other continents.

I went over my limit by 7 books. I think it’s a safe bet to say that 16 was a drastically unrealistic number. This doesn’t count all of the books I’ve brought it but finagled out of counting (mostly by donating/selling others). I’m definitely upping the number for next year but at least having a stellar library should help keep it low.

Leave a Reply

