November Wrap-Up and December TBR

November was not a great reading month for me. In addition to multiple social obligations, Boyfriend and I were sick for the end of November and start of December. I only finished one regular book. I wasn’t too bad off but he still has a fever which I’m hoping will finally break today.

I read a lot of short books for Borrowathon but I didn’t make much progress in my longer books. We spent some time with friends of ours who have a 3YO son and are expecting twins in about a week. I grabbed some library books to read to the little guy so they’re on the list.

November Wrap-Up

Hansel and Gretel by Neil Gaiman
I didn’t love the art. It was interesting but it blended together. Fun but not Gaiman’s best retelling. 4/5

The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman
Fantastic art and more depth to the story than you’d ever expect from a book this short. 5/5

Rabbityness by Jo Empson
Beautiful art and a simple story. You can also engage with the kiddo you’re reading it to about the different images. 4/5

Boo-Hoo Bird by Jeremy Tankard
A brightly colored and silly story about a melodramatic bird who gets hit on the head. This story was where I learned I was good at reading to a child. 5/5

Betty Goes Bananas by Steve Antony
Another book that let me show off my dramatic reading skills. Betty is an ape who has tantrums involving a troublesome banana. Fun and silly. 4/5

Hunted by James Patterson
A novella that’s essentially a modern ‘A Most Dangerous Game.’ Like a novelization of a Jason Statham movie. Nothing groundbreaking but entertaining. 3/5

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
A beautiful take on Sleeping Beauty. 5/5

The Arrival by Shaun Tan
Beautiful art and a very poignant theme given the attitudes in America right now. 5/5

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
My understanding of schizophrenia has grown so much. I don’t better understand how the disease works but what it can do to a mind. This book enhances empathy for those dealing with the disease. Everyone should read this. 5/5

Library of Luminaries: Jane Austen by Zena Alkayat
A fun little biography of Jane Austen with lovely art. Because I know more about Ms. Austen going in, I appreciated this a bit more than the last Luminary Library bio I read. 5/5

December TBR

Carry-Over: Dog Merchants by Kim Kavin
I started this in November and hope to finish it soon. Well researched with great interviews about a complex issue. Absolutely fascinating.

The Curse of Jacob Tracey by Holly Messinger
Recommended for me by the library website, it’s the days of westward expansion and Mr. Tracey can see ghosts. It sounded fun.

My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
My token holiday read. It’s a YA anthology so I’m not expecting to love it but I hope it’s fun.

My poetry read. It’s whichever collection the library gets to me first.

Leave a Reply

