October Wrap Up and November TBR

This is a bit delayed but my November is starting with large books already in progress so the TBR still applies. Most of my October stuff you’ve seen reviewed elsewhere because of two different read-a-thons I participated in but still, here they are:

October Wrap Up

Seduction in Death by J. D. Robb
This is the kind of tale I’ve come to enjoy from Robb. It has the Criminal Mind style hunts and just enough personal drama to keep it interesting. However, I found some of the relationship stuff with the secondary characters trite. 3/5

Penpal by Dathan Auerbach
I was surprised by how well this was written and the creep factor was incredibly high. I enjoyed the tense, slow build but found the ending very anticlimactic. I spent a lot of time wondering why people didn’t call the police more often. 4/5

Haunted Old Forge
Short, fun creepy tales about places I’ve actually been. Very interesting. 4/5

Birdbox by Josh Malerman
I did a longer review here but the short version is that this will heebie your jeebies and leave a great deal of mystery. 4/5

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega
Creepy with an interesting ending but cliché AF. 3/5

The Women in the Walls
I did a longer review elsewhere. Much like Twilight, it was a great idea with piss poor execution. 1.75/5

October Dreams edited by Richard Chizmar
I started this and enjoyed some of the stories but I was over 100 pages in before I figured out how to tell the essays from the fiction. I was a bit disappointed but will eventually pick it back up and make more progress.

November TBR

The Year of Voting Dangerously by Maureen Dowd
A collection of essays Dowd wrote during the course of this very messy election. An interesting read so far. Most of what I see about Clinton is biased in a positive way so it’s different to hear Dowd speak legitimate criticisms.

Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton
I’ve made a small dent in this lengthy tome but with this woman (hopefully, please god, any god, I’m not picky) becoming president, I wanted to read her memoir about being secretary of state.

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
I started it in September and now I’m going to finish it.

Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
I love the sound of this book. Unfortunately, Whitehead managed to write a zombie novel that bored me enough I didn’t bother finishing it. We’ll see if I find this one more captivating. (And I still plan on trying Zone One as an audiobook.)

Leave a Reply

