Top 5 TBRs for 2016

Inspired by April Sarah, these are the 5 books that need to come off my TBR in 2016 both challenge and not. I’ve only got 2 months left and it’s time to focus. I did short lists for the two casual challenges.

Challenge Books

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
This is a phenomenal book about a teen’s struggle with schizophrenia. I started it in September but I knew I wasn’t appreciating it so I decided to shelf it. I dove headfirst into my Halloween stories and plan on getting right back to where I left off.

Hard Choices by Hillary Clinton
With our first women president about to be elected (please god, any god, I’m not picky), it’s time I got to know her better.

Fully Service by Scotty Bowers
Written when Bowers was in his 80s about his time as a call boy for closeted celebrities.

Jane Austen
I haven’t read all of her works so my goal is to read one that is not P&P for pre-1850

Locke and Key
A free audiobook adaptation of a graphic novel. Other than the little kid’s voice being grating AF, it’s been a very compelling story. It’s got a full cast and sound effects so it’s very easy to lose yourself in the story.

Casual Challenge Books

Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
PopSugar has an Oprah’s Book Club pick and this novel looks fascinating.

Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor
I read the prequel and now I want to read the novel that started it all. (Another PopSugar one.)

Headscarves and Hymens by Mona Eltahawy
A nonfiction tale about feminism and the middle east. It checks off one for Book Riot and PopSugar.

 

Other Books

Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein
I discovered it on BookTube, read a sample, and was instantly pumped to read these short stories.

Live More, Want Less by Mary Carlomagno
An impulse by in the Adirondacks, it’s a message I’m going to need to hear again before it sinks in.

Prison Island by Colleen Frakes
My library wouldn’t carry it but SPX delivered with Frakes herself making an appearance. It’s about her childhood on a tiny prison island in Washington State.

Leave a Reply

