Book Box Review: Lit-Cube’s Jane Austen Box

It’s been well established that I don’t have the greatest impulse control when it comes to shopping. This is how I wound up ordering Lit-Cube’s limited edition Jane Austen box. Getting it was an accident that resulted from some fuster-cluckery.

I have no idea why but I did not get any update emails about my order. I remember thinking “I ordered that a while ago” and checked the status. It was marked as shipped so I reached out of ask what was going on. It was a website mistake they were fixing. I email about a month later to figure out what the hold up is.The boxes were delayed. An email already went out about this.

I don’t know how or why but no emails made it to me. They weren’t caught by my spam filter or anything on my end. I found the customer service somewhat condescending. I’m genuinely not getting any of your messages so stop acting like I’m bother you. The only emails I got were the refund I requested and a notification that my box was shipped.

I’m kind of glad I got my money back because this was definitely not the box for me. Contained within were:

  • A copy of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and mathcing bookmarks
  • A small notebook and large notebook with Austen quotes recessed into the cover
  • A mug with a recessed Austen quote
  • Scented wax crumbles
  • Plush Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy dolls

I’m allergic to perfumes so while the wax crumbles were nice, they were promptly taken to the building’s lounge to find a better home. I hate my handwriting so I don’t use notebooks. I was recently thinking about how I never use mugs and should go through the ones we have. Plus, it’s a white mug with a white recessed quote on it. Not a fan.

I love the Lizzie Bennet Diaries and book. I know this because I got them when I kickstarted the DVDs for the series and I read the book over a year ago.

The plush dolls are soft and adorable. It’s what compelled me to order the box in the first place. All of the items are nice but I don’t care for almost everything in it. Not bad in general but bad for me. I’m hoping to regift most of the items that I don’t want.

Leave a Reply

