Frightfall Read-a-thon Wrap Up

The Frightfall Read-a-thon has concluded. As it usually is with my TBRs, I did not read as much as I was hoping. A combination of socializing, watching TV with Boyfriend, and a presidential debate hampered my progress. I did managed to finish 2 books I had started, 1 complete novel, and started another book.

Finished what I started

Seduction in Death by J. D. Robb
I liked this better than the previous one which used murder as misdirection. This one was about more Criminal Minds-style murders. I found some of the McNab-Peabody drama a bit trite. 3.5/5

Haunted Old Forge by Dennis Webster
I like the paranormal being something that happens to someone else so finding in a place I’ve been and will go again was a strange novelty. The full review will be here tomorrow. 3.75/5

Something New

Penpal by Dathan Auerbach
This was not at all what I expected. I went in not knowing much but I expected it to be a heap of creeps. Instead it was something much slower and more insidious. The writing was much better than I expected and therefore took me longer than anticipated. The build was slow, the reveal less dramatic than I expected, and there was a distinct lack of police where there should have been. Overall, a good Halloween read. 4/5

Beginning

October Dreams by Richard Chizmar
I read the first short story in this anthology. It was at a lower reading level than I expected but a very compelling Halloween tale. We’ll see how this behemoth goes.

One thought on “Frightfall Read-a-thon Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

