September Wrap Up and October TBR

As fall settled in and battled against the summer weather I was able to check off a few challenge titles.

Becoming Nicole by Amy Ellis Nutt
A Pulitzer Prize winning account of Wyatt becoming Nicole and what it meant for her family and the world around her. 5/5

A Child’s First Book of Trump by Michael Ian Black
A silly illustrated book about Trump for adults as much as kids. Funny, timely, and well illustrated, I enjoyed this short book. 4/5

Exit Zero by Neil Cohen
A zombie apocalypse starts in New Jersey because people are literally thinking with their stomachs. From an indie that could have benefited from a seasoned editor but not bad. 3/5

Neurocomic by Dr. Hana Ros
This is a fun comic that blurs the line between fiction and nonfiction. It’s full of fascinating information about how our brain works and includes visitors from several pioneering scientists. A fast, fun, and informative read. 4/5

Living Well, Spending Less by Ruth Soukup
While this didn’t change my life, it had a message I really needed to hear right now. Some of her advice didn’t totally apply to me but I give her mad props for providing resources that help people. 3/5

Normally I don’t have a very long TBR for any given month but I love October and I love Halloween so I’m going big on my spooky TBR.

October Dreams edited by Richard Chizmar
This was out of print for ages so I was so pumped when it was back in stock.

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega
Her stuff is light and a teenager running for her life trapped in subway tunnels sounds like great ride.

The Dark Verse by Sharkchild
I kickstarted this book on a lark and it’s absolutely beautiful. If the stories are half as good as the cover, it’s gonna be great.

Penpal by Dathan Auerbach
Based of several creepypasta tales, I don’t know much about this novel going in and I think I’ll like it all the better for it.

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Vol 1 by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa
I’ve been waiting for this title for literally years. Now that it’s finally out, I can’t wait to dig in.

Leave a Reply

