Richer Reading Life Quarterly Update

It’s been a busy reading summer. When you start to feel like you’re melting outside, what better time to stay in and read. I’ve included short recaps since everything on here has its own entry.

Books

  • By a woman – The Bell Jar
  • By a POCBad Feminist
  • By a LGBT+ personMore Than This
  • Deals with Mental Illness – Challenger Deep
  • Woman in Politics
  • Author over 65
  • Author from Africa – The Book of Phoenix
  • Takes place in Asia – Singapore Noir
  • Indie press – Pedal Zombies
  • TranslationSings Preceding the End of the World
  • PoetryPoisoned Apples 
  • Published before 1850
  • Genre I typically avoid – Living Well, Spending Less
  • Award Winner – Becoming Nicole by Amy Ellis Nutt
  • Audiobook
  • Recommendation

I started Challenger Deep but I didn’t finish it. It’s a fantastic book but I wasn’t appreciating it because I wanted to read other things more so I’m coming back to it in November. The Book of Phoenix is a prequel to Nnedi Okorafor’s well known book, Who Fears DeathPhoenix received rave reviews from a couple of folks on BookTube and I’m happy to say they were spot on. Singapore Noir was discovered on my library’s just-in shelf. As with any anthology, some were better than others but it was a fun and interesting read.

Living Well, Spending Less checked off two categories for me since it was religious and self-help. With my debit card synced to my major accounts for online payment, I have to be very conscious of my spending. While I didn’t love this book and the Bible passages meant little to me, it was a message I needed to hear when I read it. Becoming Nicole earned its Pulitzer Prize for its compelling and unbiased story about a family’s journey and activism. Absolutely worth reading.

Activities

  • Ask a local librarian for a recommendation
  • Ask someone I respect for a recommendation and read it right awayBlindsight & Twitter friend
  • Read outsideoutside a restaurant, near some shops, and on the beach
  • Read a book that looks like it will make you uncomfortable – Haunted Old Forge
  • Read out loud to someone I loveBoyfriend and Ghostly Encounters
  • Dog ear a page – Never Open Desert Diner quotes
  • Write in margins – The Book of Phoenix 
  • Give away a book that’s been in my TBR a long time Most of my 2nd quarterly cull
  • Cull 10 books from my collection and don’t bring any home for a month Culled? Check. No new books? Check
  • Attend a reading event near me – This Is Why You’re Single sketch show and book tour
  • Read the book, watch the movie, debate which is better
  • Listen to an audio book of a physical book I DNF
  • Listen to a podcast about booksDear Book Nerd and BookTube
  • Memorize a poem
  • Read one page of a holy book of faith I was not raised with Quran
  • Have a conversation about books with someone you’ve never talked books with before MRI tech

I finally did it. I managed to not bring any new books home for a month. Not just no new books but are exempt to the final 16 rule. No new books at all. I made up for that in August and September.

My handwriting is terrible. I took classes and got special attention as a child kind of terrible. I dislike my handwriting and much prefer typing everything I can. Writing in the margins was a tall order.

I follow a pathologist on Instagram nad have cut poop balls of my dog’s butt so making me uncomfortable is no small task. I posted about this on Twitter and a twitter friend of mine suggested the sci-fi novel Blindsight. I respect his opinion since we have similar interests so I requested it from the library. One thing that makes me uncomfortable is the idea that the paranormal will stop being a thing that happens to other people and start happening to me. Old Forge is a tiny town near where Boyfriend and his family vacation every year. I haven’t finished it but what better time to finish it than October?

Books

  1. Illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
  2. This Is Why You’re Single by Laura Lane & Angela Spera
  3. Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken & Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
  4. The Green Man by Ellen Datlow
  5. Sisters of the Revolution edited by Ann VanderMeer
  6. Sharkpunk edited by Jonathan Green
  7. The Feminist Utopia Project by Alexandra Blonsky & Rachel Kauder Nalebuff
  8. Headscarves & Hymens: Why the Middle Easy Needs a Sexual Revolution by Mona Eltahawy
  9. If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski
  10. A Purpose for the Pain by Renee Yohe
  11. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
  12. Penpal by Daniel Auerbach
  13. Cautionary Fables and Fairy Tales: Africa
  14. Cautionary Fables and Fairy Tales: Europe
  15. Live More, Want Less by Mary Carlomagno
  16. Lady Susan/The Watsons/Sanditon by Jane Austen

I have not given my latest book by Miss Austen it’s own entry but I have officially hit 16. However, one of the books on this list is now being carried by my library and I plan on selling it. No, I still have not read it so I’m learning to give my library a couple of months on books I want that they don’t have yet. Since I won’t be keeping it and I’m doing yet another purge of at least 10 books, I’ll give myself this mulligan.

9 & 10 were obtained because I discovered them at Firefly and thought they might give me some insight into my possible BPD. 11 was from the Book of the Month club for a whopping $5. Penpal cost about as much as shipping and it’s going to be a good Halloween read. Both Cautionary Fables and Fairy Tales are out of print and hard to find but find them I did. 15 was an impulse buy I think will serve me well in the near future.

 

Leave a Reply

