Richer Reading Life Book 8

For Author from Africa, I read The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor. It is the recently released prequel for her acclaimed book Who Fears Death. It got good reviews from Books and Pieces and I suspected it would help set the stage for the other book.

It’s an excellent piece of fiction. A multinational corporation is experimenting with biological entities. Phoenix is one of those entities. This story begins when Phoenix starts seeing her home for the prison it truly is.

The narrative style is definitely different from American and European authors. It reminded me more of the Caribbean authors I’ve read. The difference is subtle but it’s part of the flow, how the characters speak and relate to each other. I’m not sure if it was the style of the writing or how the story was meant to go but it didn’t feel as in depth as I hoped it would.

Maybe my questions will be answered in Who Fears Death or maybe Okorafor just doesn’t tell us every little thing like some other authors. Either way, I look forward to exploring her next work. 4/5

Leave a Reply

