July Wrap Up and August TBR

July was a busy reading month. Partly because I was inundated with library books, partly because I was trying to check off challenge categories, and partly because I signed up for a readathon.

Squirrel Girl Vol 3 by Ryan North
Still cute, still fun, still reading this series. I’m curious to see what happens next and may visit Howard the Duck to see the crossover. 4/5

The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell
Her dad was an unstable, unreliable con man who definitely had a personality problem a shrink could diagnose. It was interesting to see how this sort of thing plays out in the real world. 4/5

Party Games by R. L. Stine (Fear Street Relaunch #1)
I can see why I liked it as a kid but the adult in me sees all the bad press and PTSD issues from the stupid shit happening here. 3/5

At a Crossroads: Between a Rock and My Parents Place by Kate T. Williamson
I’ve graduated college and don’t know what to do with my life. I’m going to life at home for a while then more to New York. I was underwhelmed. 2/5

Inferno by Dan Brown
I saw a movie trailer and decided to read the book. This is Brown’s weakest work yet and probably the worst book I’ve read all year. 1/5

Sex Criminals Vol 3
We’ve got new characters, new problems, and new jokes. I’m very curious to see what happens next.

Comedy of Doom by Joseph Scrimshaw
Geeky, funny, and varied. You could choose your own adventure, hear about Scrimshaw’s life, or take a glimpse into silly otherworlds. 4/5

Singapore Noir edited by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan
I enjoyed this. It gave me a glimpse into a world I wasn’t looking for but was interesting to visit. 4/5

I’m winding down on Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I’ve been enjoying it. It hasn’t rocked me the way the world thinks it should have but maybe that comes in the final third of the book. Other books I want to read in August are:

The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor
It’s a prequel to Who Fears Death and Books and Pieces had good things to say so I requested it from the library. I’m very much looking forward to it.

Blindsight by Peter Watts
It was recommended to me by a friend of mine on Twitter. Either it will make me uncomfortable or it will recommended by someone I respect, even if he is just an internet friend.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
I saw the trailer for the film and decided I needed this book in my life ASAP. I’m the #1 hold on the library list so I should be getting it soon.

Princeless Vol 4 and Pirate Princess Vol 1
I scored these are Awesome Con and can’t wait to dive deeper into this series.

Doctor Who: The Doctor Trap by Simon Messingham
I haven’t read much from the Doctor Who universe but since it’s coming back this winter, I thought I’d revisit Ten and Donna.

True Ghost Stories by Jim Harold
I own all of Jim Harold’s books and it’s time to read all of them. Plus, I like the idea of the paranormal happening to other people.  The idea of it being real makes me uncomfortable so I can check that off a casual challenge.

 

Leave a Reply

