Casual Challenge Update June & July

Bimonthly seems to be working well for these so I’m doing it again. It looks like my intensive reading in June and July checked off more than a few boxes for me.

PopSugar 2016 Reading Challenge

  • On an island – Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley
  • Written by a celebrity – It’s Not OK by Andi Dorfman
  • Based on a fairy tale – A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham
  • Haven’t read since high school – Party Games by R. L. Stine
  • Written by a comedian – Comedy of Doom by Joseph Scrimshaw

England is an island so I’m counting this sequel. It lost the intimacy of the first one by focusing on two characters on different sides of the same merger. We saw a little bit of Myfawny but not as much as I would have liked. While I enjoyed this book a great deal, I didn’t love it as much as the first one. 4/5

Andi Dorfman was on The Bachelor and got to be The Bachelorette so she’s a minor celebrity. Reading about her relationship going to hell was interesting although her denial about going up a size was annoying. Fat happens little lady. Get over it or cut back on the wine. 3/5

Cunningham’s book was a retelling of several fairy tales with a modern edge. Fairy tales are much darker than Disney would have you believe and having them altered to include our modern conundrums was a very entertaining read. 4/5

I’m bending the rules for the high school one because I have no desire to reread anything I read in high school. However, I was addicted to the Fear Street books when I was a tween/early teen. Since they relaunched the series, I thought I’d do this. More the spirit of the law rather than the letter. It was fun, cheesy, and as an adult I can tell you there’d be so many lawsuits at the end of that party. 3/5

For the High Summer readathon, I was able to finally enjoy Joseph Scrimshaw’s Comedy of Doom. I bought it after I saw him on tour with The Doubleclicks. It was funny, snarky, and a great read for any geek.  4/5

2016_PSRC

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016

  • Read a collection of essays – Shrill by Lindy West
  • Read a book out loud to someone else – Ghostly Encounters by Jeff Scott Cole
  • A book over 500 pages – The Rook OR Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley
  • Author from SE Asia – Singapore Noir edited by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan

Initially I counted The Rook but Stiletto clears 500 pages without bonus content. If only it had cleared 600 hundred I could have killed two birds with one stone. Boyfriend and I binged on the show Ghost Adventures last fall and listened to several Jim Harold podcasts so this was right up our alley. I played him several of the EVPs from Cole’s website and read to him to give him context. Unfortunately, there wasn’t as much book as I was hoping for so this got a 3/5.

Shrill has been described as a collection of essays but I honestly don’t think it reads as one. The narrative flow is so strong and cohesive that it reads like a memoir. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. 5/5

Singapore Noir is both edited by and primarily composed of authors from Singapore. It gave me a glimpse into a part of Asia I’ve never thought about visiting before. Some stories were meh and others were fantastic. I calculated the average and how I was feeling and this anthology earned 4/5

2016BRRHC

Leave a Reply

