June Wrap-Up and July TBR

My plan to read exclusively from the library went a little too well. I’m inundated with books from fun finds to holds that have finally come in.

June

Breaking Cat News by Georgia Dunn
An incredibly cute web comic about 3 cats who run a news network about what’s going on in their home. I started following it somewhere in the middle so it was nice to see it from the beginning. 4/5

Impossible Monsters by Kasey Lansdale
A horror anthology I stumbled upon, this was very fun and full of creeps. My average rating from the various stories totals 4 out of 5 stars. For more details, here’s my full review.

It’s Not Okay by Andi Dorfman
I watched The Bachelor(ette) when I was in  my teens but I started watching Andi’s season at the encouragement of my friend. Ironcially, now she doesn’t watch it and I’m a member of Bachelor Nation. Andi dished some major dirt about her ex but not much about the reality show process. It’s a memoir of heartbreak vaguely attempting to help women through their own struggles. 3/5

Wrapped Up in You (My Boyfriend Is a Monster #6) by Dan Jolley
I love this series. They’re short B&W comics about teen girls falling for guys who are various kinds of monsters. They have positive messages, important lessons, and fun stories. 5/5

Shrill by Lindy West
loved this book. West shares her struggles of living life while fat. It’s billed as a collection of essays but the narrative flow is so strong and cohesive that I never thought of it that way. It’s a fantastic feminist memoir every woman in the western world should read. 5/5

Ghostly Encounters by Jeff Scott Cole
I heard about this book on the Jim Harold Paranormal Podcast. My favorite thing that Cole did was include QR codes to listen to the actual evidence he collected on various investigations. However, I wanted his story, not to follow in his footsteps so both chapters on the various tech weren’t interesting to me. They wasn’t much book either. The final 60 or so pages is all appendixes about haunted places or paranormal groups in the U.S.. I wanted more book. 3.5/5

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley
The much anticipated sequel to The Rook. Previously the focus was solely on Myfawny Thomas and her story. Now, Thomas is an important character but not the main POV.

July TBR

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler
A modern retelling of Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew.

The Geek Feminist Revolution edited by Kameron Hurley
An essay collection. I was sold on name alone.

Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor
A much lauded genre fiction novel that takes place in Africa.

 

I’ve got a hold on the latest trade of Squirrel Girl so we’ll see when that comes through.

Leave a Reply

