Casual Reading Challenge Month 4 & 5

You may have noticed I didn’t do one of these in April. If you did, go get yourself a cookie. You’ve been paying attention. By the end of April, I didn’t have much to cross off any of my lists. I was reading some things that would apply but wouldn’t finish them in time. So I figured it made the most sense to just lump these 2 months together.

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016

  • Food memoir – Relish by Lucy Knisley

It may be a graphic memoir but Relish is one of the better food memoirs I’ve ever read. It not only shows Knisley’s life through time but with food and it’s deep emotional connection. I’m a little disappointed this is the only thing I can check off this list but it’s called the Read Harder challenge for a reason.

2016BRRHC AprMay-page-001.jpg

PopSugar’s Reading Challenge 2016

  • Library book – A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood
  • Satirical book – Mother, Can You Not? by Kate Siegel
  • Guaranteed to bring you joy – The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
  • Translation – Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herrera

A Tyranny of Petticoats was excellent and borrowing it for free made it that much sweeter. Kate Siegel started an Instagram page to showcase her mother’s craziness and included some of her very best crazy stories. Since the most exaggerated and entertaining version is presented, I’m counting that for satire. Very few new books come with any sorts of guarantees but rereading a favorite will always bring me joy. I stumbled upon the short, sweet, and poignant translation in my library’s new section. I’m glad I did.

2016_PSRC AprMay-page-001

Leave a Reply

