May TBR, a little April Wrap Up, and a Library Haul

I read exactly one book off my April TBR. I haven’t even finished it yet. Dear Reader routinely gives me cause to stop and walk away because the lies are so ludicrous that I can’t even for a while. I know it has nothing to do with Malice and everything the North Korean propaganda machine stands for. It still doesn’t make certain things easy to stomach.

I wanted something to cut the edge on Dear Reader and No Baggage would require more focus and investment I could give it while reading propaganda ‘nonfiction.’ It also kept me from being in the mood for All Stories Are Love Stories. Since DR is for the ‘takes place in Asia’ part of my challenge, it got a majority of my focus.

Instead of the earlier graphic novels I wanted to finish, I read 2 Lucy Knisley graphic novels: Relish and Make Yourself Happy. Relish was like a graphic collection of essays about what food has meant to Lucy Knisley and her family. It was lovely and I highly recommend it. I’m enjoying Make Yourself Happy which was borrowed from a friend and has been a collection of comics rather than a larger narrative. Still fun and worth a read.

Now, on to my library haul

IMG_8142

Boyfriend works near the library so I was killing sometime while I waited for him to meet me there. I snagged Tyranny and found a few friends for it to come home with bumping my TBR to include:

Poisoned Apples by Christine Hepperman
This has been on my TBR for a while and I saw it wandering into the YA section of my library for the first time. Poems based on fairytales? Yes please.

Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herrera
A translation from it’s original Spanish, it tells the story of a woman who has to cross the river and look for her brother. It’s pretty short and vaguely reminiscent of Cormac McCarthy thus far.

Breeds by Fenella Smith and the Brothers McLeod
I saw this in the new releases area and knew I could finish it quickly. It’s got fun pictures of pooches and silly descriptions.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
I am about to admit something big which may count as a sin for book bloggers and vloggers everywhere: I have never read Rainbow Rowell before. Based on the premise and my close relationship with fandom, I decided this would be my first. Even after I realized how long my TBR was getting and how much short Eleanor & Park was.

A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood
This was ready for me to get from the library faster than I anticipated. Unfortunately, I can’t check it for any of the boxes on my challenge but it should be fun.

Something New, Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley
Released on May 3, my library will have it right away and I’m 3 out of 6 on the wait list. This hopefully means I’ll have it by mid-month. I can usually devour her works in about a day. I’m very excited to see what’s she’s got to say about getting married since that’s coming up on the horizon for me.

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
The sequel, Stiletto, comes out in June and I’m already on my library’s wait list for it (#2!). Ergo I want to revisit this highly detailed world without the must-find-out-what-happens intensity of a first read.

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol 2
I’m next in line on the wait list at the library so this should be ready shortly. I’m looking forward to the cute, continuing saga.

In addition to all these titles, I’ve got to finish Dear Reader and Adulting which is the book I chose to cut the edge off DR. This brings my TBR total up to 10 for the next 5 or so weeks. Can I pull this off? Probably not but it will be fun trying.

My Genre I Usually Avoid book has been chosen but I won’t reveal it until I’m closer to reading it. If inquiring minds want to know, you’ll just have to hope May is a banner month for reading.

2 thoughts on “May TBR, a little April Wrap Up, and a Library Haul

Leave a Reply

