30 Day Minimalism Challenge, Round 1

Here is my first attempt at minimizing the clutter in various parts of my life.

Day 1 – Turn off notifications

This one was quite pleasant to do. I don’t let many apps send me notifications anyway but now it’s only the Caps app and a wellness app.

Day 2 – Practice gratitude

I realized I had a lot of things to be grateful for. Living in a lively and interesting part of the country, not living in poverty, having access to fresh and healthy food, having a group of friends to do things with, having a loving SO who gets and accepts me, living close to family, being privileged enough to live in excess and wanting to restrict that, being able to see the Welcome to Night Vale live show, and the Caps sending the Flyers down in a garish orange flames.

Day 3 – Define my goals for the year

This one was a bit harder but working off my New Year’s resolutions, here’s what I came up with:

  • Read more and enjoy what I’m reading
  • Pay off my credit card
  • Save money
  • Spend less
  • Start planning my wedding (once Boyfriend proposes)
  • Travel somewhere
  • Better myself
  • Eat healthier
  • Exercise more
  • Lose weight
  • Prioritize my health
  • Pet all the dogs

Day 4 – Go for a walk and practice mindfulness

With all the nice weather we’ve been having lately, this was a pretty nice one to check off.

Day 5 – No email or social media until lunch

While this wasn’t super-difficult, it certainly messed with my regular routine. I tend to be more glued to these at home in the evening so I should probably add that to my regular routine to minimize electronic time.

Day 6 – Don’t buy anything for 24 hours

This one was fairly easy. I didn’t need groceries and we’ve always got something food-wise we can grab in a pinch to bring to a party.

Day 7 – Clean out my closet

I’ve done several major purges lately so this one wasn’t too difficult. I plan on doing this at my mom’s house with some of my old clothes there. That will be a part 2.

Day 8 – Meditate for 15 minutes

I got busy and this will definitely not be happening today. It has been pushed back to later this week when I have time to truly focus and do this task justice. I want to do it right, not get it over with to check it off my list.

Leave a Reply

