Book Tag: Reader Problems

It’s time for another tag. This one is brought to you by Problems of a Book Nerd.

You have 20,000 books in your TBR. How do you decide what to read next?

The same way I always do. Figure out what I’m in the mood for and if there is anything that I need to read for a current challenge.

You’re halfway through a book you’re just not feeling it. Do you quit or are you committed? 

I commit but only if I can’t find a synopsis. I hated Seven Wonders but I really wanted to know how it ended. I knew I’d be disappointed but I really wanted to know. If Wikipedia can tell me, I’m done.

The end of the year is approaching and you’re so close yet so far from completing your GoodReads challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Very much yes. Sometimes I ‘cheat’ and read children’s books in the store or deliberately pick a graphic novel I can finish PDQ. If I know I’m not going to make it, I move the goal posts. I wanted to be able to easily find the list of what I read that year and knew it wasn’t going to happen so I changed my number.

The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

This is currently my life with my Thursday Next books. I had all of the orange spines and then things changed and they republished the series midway through with new cover art. You accept it and move on. Unless the new cover art is tactile or obscene beautiful, in which case I upgrade.

Everyone and their mother loves a book you didn’t think was that great. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

If I really want to rant about it, I go to reddit. Odds are that at least one of my friends will feel similarly or someone on GoodReads will see my review and agree with me. I don’t always have to have someone agree with my dislike, just listen and respect it.

You are reading a book in public and are about to cry. What do you do?

I’m not a big crier. It takes a lot to get me to shed actual tears. When a book makes me feel incredibly sad or emotional. I put it down and do anything else. Play a game on my phone, people watch, channel surf. Distract myself so I can process.

The sequel of a book you love just came out but you forgot the plot of the first book. Will you reread the book, skip the sequel, try to find a synopsis, or cry in frustration?

The odds of me forgetting the entire plot of a book I’ve loved is highly unlikely. I have such a long memory for books that it takes me a few years to really forget enough of the details to properly enjoy a reread. That said, I’d reread it. If I loved it so much, I won’t mind revisiting it.

You don’t want anyone borrowing your books. How do you tell them no?

I do not lend out autographed copies, ever. I also don’t lend out favorites. Most of my friends are big enough readers that they either get it on their own or respect my idiosyncrasies.

You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get through your reading slump?

I had a slump not too long ago. Sometimes I just don’t read much for a while or try to cleanse the palette with a graphic novel or something light and silly. If that doesn’t work, time to bust out an old favorite or a new title I’m sure to love.

There are so many books coming out you are dying to read. How many do you actually buy?

Now that I live in a place with a kick-ass library with Sunday hours, I’ve been adding all sorts of books to my queue. I’ve even cross-referenced my ‘Want to Buy’ list with their database and taken some things off the list because they had them. TL;DR not very many.

After you buy new books you really want to read, how long do they sit on your shelf waiting to be read?

It varies based on my current challenge, what I’m in the mood for (memoir/fiction/sci-fi), and what else I’m excited about. The short answer is too damn long. On that note, I should probably go read something.

Leave a Reply

