Capsule Size

I’ve read several articles slamming Project 333 or Un-Fancy’s 37 piece capsules because the original intent was for it to be much smaller. Things change over time and different people live by different rules.

I am rubbish at not shopping so I’m trying to motivate myself to not buy things like clothes by focusing on other things like replacing my Kindle that just died or buying furniture for the bedroom so it’s not as much of a disaster. We’ll see if that helps.

My recent spending spree includes but is not limited to: a crab dolman tee (I’m from Maryland), a cactus dolman tee, an under the sea skirt, leggings, more leggings, yet another pair of leggings, and a floral top. There’s some other stuff but it’s all dependent on what fits. What fits and I love stays. If I don’t love it or it doesn’t fit, buh-bye. Everything shipped in the last 36 hours so we’ll find out this weekend what works and what doesn’t.

There’s one other thing on my wishlist but I’m waiting until May. I may have gone nuts but so help me, my 24 hour rule will hold. I may or may not add another pair of short leggings depending on how everything fits.

Based on my recent wardrobe increase, I’m wondering if I should modify my idea of a capsule. Project 333 feels like it would be an extreme jump from excess to minimal. Gradual change is often longer lasting than an extreme jump (or so I’ve heard). I’m thinking about doing a rule of 10. I can only have a maximum of 10 of the following items

  • Dresses
  • Skirts
  • Pants/Capris/Shorts
  • Work tops
  • Casual tops
  • Sweaters/Jackets
  • Costume/Occasion wear

I know I will not hit 10 in dresses or skirts but I’m hoping to get 2 dresses I kickstarted later this spring/summer putting my estimated total around 8. I may hit 10 for bottoms but that’s because leggings are my summer wardrobe bae.

It’s better to have an excess of tops since people notice them more than pants and they make a small wardrobe feel larger. Plus, I have some things I love that I can’t wear into the office like my Kylo Ren is a punk bitch tank. I also won’t hit 10 sweaters but it’s usually air conditioned AF around here in the summer so a similar rule to tops applies.

I’m also limiting my costumes because I’m only going to 2 more cons during my capsule and some costumes don’t fit very well right now. It’s better for me to focus on the pieces that do work and have fun in those. I’ve still got to order a pair of boots (which will be included in the list) but I have to order 2 sizes to see which fits and return the one that doesn’t. I hate buying shoes.

If I find that the final number is too big or some pieces just aren’t seeing any action, I’ll cut down and update accordingly. I could completely change my mind again by mid-May but this is my current preferred idea. I’ll let you know how my haul works out.

Leave a Reply

