Book Tag: Reading Diversely

I was watching Books and Quills when this popped up after one of her videos. Part of my Richer Reading Life Challenge is to read diversely so I bring you this book tag. I marked all the titles with R or TBR so you know my relationship with the work.

Africa

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (TBR)
I saw and loved her TEDTalk. This is definitely on my TBR because I want to her more of what this amazng woman has to say.

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith (TBR)
This series seems like a lot of fun from what I’ve heard so it’s on my TBR.

Dark Star Safari by Paul Theroux (TBR)
Theroux journeys all over the continent and marvels in all it has to offer. On my TBR.

Asia

Wayward by Jim Zub (R)
This is a fantastic graphic novel series that uses Japanese mythology to create a story about a changing world. It does a great job reflecting the culture and not just using Japan as decoration.

Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick (R)
A variety of tales of what life was like in the mysterious North Korea. What was different about this was that you get the perspective of the poor and the well-to-do. Life was hard all around but in different ways.

Foreign Babes in Beijing by Rachel DeWoskin (R)
An American woman moves to China. Shenanigans and cultural education ensue.

Australia

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simpson (R)
A fun story of an aspie guy trying to find a partner. It illustrates how well life doesn’t fit the boxes on our checklist.

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman (TBR)
I have seen this book on many a BookTube and it sounds amazing. One thing you hear about often with Australia is the remote locations. I want to see how Stedman deals with isolation and connection.

Europe

Anything by Jane Austen (R & TBR)
Her works do a fantastic job of capturing an era and create a lovely picture of what life was like then.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (R)
A hauntingly beautiful tale of love, literature, and loss. I was captured from the beginning of this literary tale in Spain.

Stasiland: Stories from Behind the Berlin Wall by Anna Funder (R)
A hodgepodge of tales of the difficulties of life behind the Berlin wall. As an American, being so controlled is strange and alien to me.

Anything by Caitlin Moran (R & TBR)
Whether it’s her nonfiction or her debut novel, Moran deals with the difficulty of being a woman in Britain.

North America

Ragged Dick by Horatio Alger (R)
From the early part of the 20th century, it is credited with fueling the fire behind the American dream. A very important piece of our cultural history.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed (R)
She loses herself in grief when her mother dies and finds herself again out in the American wilderness. I love the spirit of this book.

 

South America

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys  (R)
I have read this and definitely enjoyed it. It was for a Caribbean lit class in college. I hope to revisit it soon.

The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende (TBR)
An award winning author, Allende creates beautiful works of magical realism. I look forward to diving into this one.

In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez (R)
I read this back in college for my Caribbean lit class and was very taken by it. You get a very detail portrait of what life looked like under Trujillo whether you were an ordinary citizen or a person of interest. I should definitely reread this.

Antarctica

Troubling a Star by Madeline L’Engle (R)
I read this when I was younger and I remember enjoying it very much. Antarctica is on my bucket list of places to visit and I think this book helped kickstart that journey.

Lost Antarctica by James McClintock (TBR)
A nonfiction book about the incredible life that reigns in this hostile place and how climate change is making it disappear.

Leave a Reply

