Movie Books of 2016

PopSugar has given me a handy list of books becoming movies in 2016. I resolved to read the book, see the movie, and compare. There are actually several good candidates for me to choose from.

The 5th Wave
Sci-fi, aliens, action. I’ve even seen other grownups reading it on the train. I’m pretty sold.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The captivating mystery/thriller that was everywhere in 2015. Strangely, I haven’t gotten any spoilers about it yet. Please keep it that way.

The Taliban Shuffle By Kim Barker
Tina Fey starring in it has some serious pull for me

Allegiant by Veronica Roth
I’ve already read the book and enjoyed the other films. I just feel like it’s cheating to not actually *read* something and that book was pretty awful.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
A unique love story and was everywhere in 2015, including with one of my future sisters-in-law. She was reading it.

Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates by Mike and Dave Stangle
The book sounds pretty funny but I worry this might be a slightly less obnoxious Tucker Max equivalent. Plus, I’d actually have to pay to see a movie I’d rather watch on TBS.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
I’ve been wanting to read this since I heard about it. I like dark and creepy and since it’s kid friendly, I should be able to enjoy it without nightmares.

Inferno by Dan Brown
I haven’t read this one yet and I’ve found all the other Robert Langdon stories to be entertaining. However, this movie will be big and I have to deal with the crowds.

Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling
I love Harry Potter. My first book of 16 was the first illustrated Harry Potter. Reading another book of that world and seeing a movie in the universe I might finally like? Solid contender.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
I’ve heard amazing reviews and I like weird.

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman
It’s been in by TBR for a while so it would give me an excellent excuse to read it.

Looking For Alaska by John Green
Green is a phenomenal writer. Occasionally I feel bad he wastes his talents writing about teenagers. I hated Margo in Paper Towns and didn’t find Quentin overly sympathetic either. Although I wonder if it’s fair to expect teenagers to not be so self-absorbed.

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan
Interesting premise and YA books tend to go quickly. Although I fear as I age, I relate to the characters less and the genre loses some appeal.

Leave a Reply

