Richer Reading Life in 2016

I’ve been doing reading challenge for several years. I like giving myself goals and there are a lot of interesting challenges out there. However, I was debating if I wanted to do one in 2016. I didn’t finish my challenge for 2015 and I really liked the idea of reading with total freedom. No stress, no pressure. Nothing but enjoyment.

I rediscovered a few articles on BOOKRIOT and they reminded me I want to have a richer reading life which both about what you read and how you read. The articles were the Read Harder Challenges 2015 and 2016 and tips for a richer reading life. Since this is for 2016, I have 16 in each category. 16 books to read, 16 activities to do. Each of these should be fun, so help me gods.

Things to Read

-By a woman
-By a POC
-By a LGBT person
-Deals with mental illness
-Woman in politics
-Author over 65
-Author from Africa
-Takes place in Asia
-Indie press
-Translation
-Poetry
-Published before 1850
-Genre I typically avoid
-Award winner
-Audiobook
-Recommendation

Things to Do

-Ask a librarian at my local library for a recommendation
-Ask someone I respect for a recommendation and read it right away
-Read outside
-Read a book that looks like it will make you uncomfortable
-Read out loud to someone I love
-Dog ear a page
-Write in margins
-Give away a book that’s been in my TBR pile for a long time
-Cull 10 books from my collection and don’t bring any new ones home for a month
-Attend a reading event near me
-Read the book, watch the movie, debate which is better
-Listen to an audiobook of a physical book I DNF
-Listen to a podcast about books
-Memorize a poem
-Read one page of a holy book of faith I was not raised with
-Have a conversation about books with someone you’ve never talked books with before

It’s unrealistic to say I won’t buy any more books but I’m running out of space and I need to save more money. I can only bring 16 new books for 2016 outside of conventions. I can only purchase at conventions if I can get them signed. Gifts purchased for others or given to me don’t count.

This is it for 2016. It should be an interesting year.

Leave a Reply

