Belated Happy Birthday Miss Austen

I completely missed Jane Austen’s birthday on December 16th! BOOKRIOT had an article with 13 books to celebrate. Most of them were nonficiton so I thought I’d add some of my favorite works of fiction inspired this great lady.

Longbourn by Jo Baker

The classic tale of Pride and Prejudice from the point of view of the servants. Poignant and lovely, this is one of my favorites.

Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James

While I haven’t read this, I did fall madly in love with the TV mini-series. It bumped the novel much higher up on my TBR list.

The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen by Syrie James

Another book in my TBR pile, Syrie James creates a story of what Miss Austen’s life was like.

Jane Made Me Do It: Original Stories Inspired by Literature’s Most Astute Observer of the Human Heart edited by Laurel Ann Nattress

A fun and charming collection of short stories inspired by Miss Austen’s life, characters, and stories. They star Miss Austen, her characters, or modern heroines. I love the variety of this collection and how different authors were inspired by her.

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler

Two women, both completely taken by Miss Austen’s heroines, swap places. They have to learn how to navigate in this strange new world and all of the drama and messes the other woman left behind. It always made me wonder if there was anything duplicitous about these women carrying on in the love lives in the new body and not really telling anyone what was going on.

And we can’t forget the written addition to one of my favorite web series:

The Secret Diaries of Lizzie Bennet and The Epic Adventure of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick, Bernie Su (Lizzie), and Rachel Kiley (Lydia)

You need to see the web series to fully understand these books (and if you haven’t, why the hell not?) but I think they could stand on their own for the most part. TSDOLB was a fantastic complement to the series and gave me more background knowledge on the characters and the world I loved. I wound up re-watching the series as I was reading it. I just picked up TEAOLB so I look forward to seeing how her saga continues soon.

Thank you Miss Austen for creating characters we adore and stories we’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

