Find a Penny

I’ve been listening to Jim Harold’s Campfire and a few of his Paranormal podcasts for a couple of months. Fortunately, the supernatural/paranormal leaves me alone and I quite like it that way. This is the closest I’ve come so in the spirit of Halloween, here’s my spooky story.

I’ve always been notorious for my ability to find loose change on the ground. I found 11 cents on my way to work today. The rust color of our metro tiles here make pennies blend in so I like to think of my change spotting ability as above average.

What really made me take notice of it was when I was coming home from seeing the touring cast of Avenue Q. A running joke throughout the show is a penny this character finds from the year he was born. On my way home, I found a penny from the year I was born as I was exiting the metro station. I figured it was someone up there having a laugh.

4 years later I was on vacation with my current boyfriend in Adirondack State Park. His extended family gets together every year near the Fulton chain of lakes. When I say we were in the boonies, I saw a little bit of the milky way in the night sky and you have to go to the next town over to get cell reception. Boyfriend knew about this 2 mile trail that circled a lake. It was between the town we were staying in the town with cell reception, about a 15-20 minute drive.

It had been rainy and cold all week so while there were a few cars, the trail wasn’t nearly as busy as it’s been in nicer weather. I’m enjoying the scenery and realizing how out of shape I am when I stop to look at this massive rock. (It was about 1.5-2 smart cars in size.) As we’re standing there chatting I see a penny on the ground. It’s from the year I was born.

This penny was far enough off the trail that it didn’t just fall out of someone’s pocket. I don’t know how but I had a strong feeling this was my father giving his approval of my boyfriend. I even saw ‘Dad’ carved onto a bridge later in the hike.

I don’t have many experiences with the paranormal (and I quite like it that way) but this really stood out to me.

Leave a Reply

